Man Basiyaa

It’s said that any offering made to Lord Krishna is incomplete without music. Lord Krishna himself is incomplete without music, carrying his bansuri with him wherever he went. The following is a bhajan to Lord Krishna, from the film Tere Naam. It’s one of the sweetest bhajans i’ve ever heard. And it sure brings back good memories, I can still remember my little sister and I going crazy over it when we first heard it :). Ah! The power of music!

Man Basiya

man basiyaa o kaanhaa

You’re settled in my heart, O Krishna!

rang rasiyaa o kaanhaa

O colourful Krishna!

pavan praabhaatii jag ko jagaatii

The dawn song wakes the earth.

bhanvare bhii karte hai gunjan

The bees sing as well.

pankh pasaare uRe pakheruu

Wings outstretched, the birds take flight.

sinduurii si.nduurii aangan

A courtyard the color of vermilion.

mangal mangal belaa mangal

An auspicious, auspicious moment.

saurabh saurabh saara bhuvan

Fragrance, fragrance, the whole world.

in charNon mein phuul chaRHaane aa’ii terii raadha mohan

Your darling Radha has come to leave an offering of flowers.

man basiyaa o kaanhaa

You’re settled in my heart, O Krishna!

rang rasiyaa o kaanhaa

O colourful Krishna!

main baanvariyaa sudh budh bhuulii

I’ve forgotten good sense and discretion

mujhko laagii terii lagan

in my devotion to you.

tere dwaare saanjh sakaare

On your doorstep, morning and evening,

tera naam jape mera man

my heart repeats your name.

jo hai mera sab hai tera

All that is mine is yours.

tujhpe hai yeh jiivan arpaN

My life is an offering to you.

in charNon mein phuul chaRHaane aa’ii terii raadha mohan

Your darling Radha has come to leave an offering of flowers.

man basiyaa o kaanhaa

You’re settled in my heart, O Krishna!

rang rasiyaa o kaanhaa

O colourful Krishna!

The video:

Oh Krishna! Such devotion from Your Radha. Surely she must be blessed? What am I saying? Of course she is. And so am I. Afterall, I am your Bansuri.

Leave a Reply

