Bansuri

Radha asked Krishna: “O my dear! Why do You love the flute more than me? What virtuous actions has it done so that it can remain in close contact with Your lips? Kindly explain to me, my Lord, the secret of this. I am eager to hear”.

Sri Krishna said: “This flute is very dear to Me. It has got some wonderful virtue. It has emptied off its egoism before I began to play. It has made its inner hollow quite void and I can bring out any kind of tune, Raga or Ragini, to My pleasure and sweet will. If you also behave towards Me in exactly the same manner as this flute, if you remove your egoism completely and make perfect self-surrender, then I shall also love you in the same manner as I love this flute”.


Source

I guess I have not seen the flute as ‘just another instrument’ for quite some time now.  It’s more than that.  It represents so so much more.  But it’s so much easier to just smile at people and say ‘I just like the flute’.  And people are always so happy to receive explanations and reasons which they are expecting.  I guess it makes us feel like we are smart or something.

Bah! Humans!

One Comment on “Bansuri”


Leave a Reply

